Subject related databasesLibrary catalogues - Repositories
This is the "Overview" page of the "Doctoral students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Services and resources at the National and University Library
síðast breytt: May 24, 2017 Slóð: http://libguides.landsbokasafn.is/doctoral Prenta leiðarvísi RSS uppfærslaEmail Alerts

Overview Prenta síðu
  Leita: 
 

Where to search?

      

    Primary search tools

    Leitir.is
    Searches different Icelandic databases e.g. Gegnir the collective catalogue of Icelandic librariesSkemman the repository of Icelandic universities and the e-journals which are on nationwide access.   

    Databases
    The numerous databases the library subscribes to offer more sophisicated search techniques than the above mentioned search tools. Technique that helps the user to focus the searches for better results. They often contain the full text of articles or links to the full texts hosted elsewhere.

    GoogleScholar
    Is a specialized search tool which focuses on information from scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. It intends to be a place for researchers to start.  As their About page says:" Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature". With Google Scholar you will find a lot more than in other databases ... but that can be problematic! 

     

    Bottom line
    For best results, use several search tools, and familiarize yourself with basic search techniques  and the search interface of the database(s) you´re going to use. Remember to contact library services if you need assistance upplys@landsbokasafn.is    

                                   . 

     
        

      Where to search for ...

      BOOKS 
      You can find printed books and e-books which are available in Icelandic libraries in Leitir.is

      JOURNALS
      All e-journal subscriptions and many Open access titles are listed in Find Journals which links to approx. 30 thousand e-journals.  You can browse categories, search for individual titles and articles. Most of these journals can also be found in Leitir.is 
      as well as journals in print format.

      The Catalogue Electronic Journals Library lists about 80 thousand e-journals which are partly open. Among them are a lot of digitized old journals.

      JOURNAL ARTICLES  
      When searching for journal articles on a specific subject most people start their search with GoogleScholar or Leitir.is 
      The National and University Library has access to a number of licenced databases, general and subject specific, which offer more sophisticated search techniques that give better search results.      

      DISSERTATION AND THESES 
      Icelandic doctoral and masters theses are listed in Leitir.is with links to the full text when available. 

      DOCTORAL THESES  Is a bibliographic database of doctoral dissertations by Icelanders. PHD theses written at Icelandic Universities are deposited in the open access repository Opin vísindi opinvisindi.is      

      Other doctoral- or masters theses can be found in collective repositories or in those of individual universities. 

      INTERLIBRARY LOANS
      If the library does not have the materials you need it is possible to request an Interlibrary Loan which is fee based.

        
       

          
        Lýsing:

        Loading  hleður niður ...

        Tip