Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

How to search for sources and find library materials: Find articles

Introduction to the library´s resources

To find articles

Google Scholar

is a specialized search tool which focuses on information from scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. It provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Journal articles from journal the library subscribes to are searchable in Google Scholar.

Click Haskoli Isl/Landsadgangur in the result list.

Leitir.is

Searches different Icelandic databases e.g. Gegnir, the collective catalogue of Icelandic libraries, Skemman the student theses repository of Icelandic universities and e-journals in nationwide access.   

Databases

The numerous databases the library subscribes to offer more sophisticated search techniques than the above mentioned search tools. Techniques that assist the user in focusing their searches for better results.

The databases are either interdisciplinary or subject specific and often contain full text articles or links to full texts via . It´s often possible to limit searches to full text articles only.

For best results, we recommend you use several search tools and familiarize yourself with the main search techniques of each database. 

Databases

Databases and search engines help you find journal articles and other information in your field.

All databases the library subscribes to are listed in E-resources on the library website. They can be listed by subject fields in the right hand column on the page.

Among items listed A-Z are:  

  • interdisciplinary databases
  • subject specific databases
  • repositories
  • dictionaries
  • library websites
  • research institutes

See