Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

International students: Finding sources

The National and University Library

The library houses the largest academic collection in Iceland with a broad collection of international scientific works and literature most of which can be borrowed for off-site use by holders of library cards. In addition the library provides access to various e-resources.

Where is the book?

We use the Dewey Decimal Classification System to organize and provide access to our collections. The system is divided into ten main classes, which together cover the entire world of knowledge.

University Network Connections

                            Some e-sources are only available to students and staff of UI. To have access to those e-sources a connection to the University Network is necessary on and off campus. VPN connection is needed off campus. Help is available at the IT Help Desk at Háskólatorg.

Leitir.is

                            Search leitir.is, the union catalogue for Icelandic libraries, is a good starting point for your research. Items that are available at our library are tagged "Landsbókasafn Háskólabókasafn" undir "Locations". Some courses have reserved a selection of books relevant to students. Those books are available at the course reserves on the 4th floor.

You can make a request for material that is not directly available through interlibrary loan on leitir.is.

E-resources

E-resources are available through the national consortium for electronic subscriptions or the University of Iceland subscriptions. Some are open access. Material in UI subscriptions are only available on the university network.

Find ebooks

You can search for e-books that are available to you in the directory of e-books. The directory includes e-books that are available nationwide, through the University network, and through open access.

Find journals

You can search for e-journals that are available to you in the directory of e-journals Find journal. The directory includes journals that are available nationwide, through the University network, and through open access.

You can also search for individual articles based on citation information.